h1

Visa/Visado

April 28, 2011

So I’ve been spending some time working through some of the paperwork about traveling. Who knew I had to fill out all this stuff? I guess I need to give proof that I’m not a terrorist or an illegal immigrant, and I guess I need to make sure that in case I break a leg or am on the brink of death I’ll get medical treatment, but it’s a lot of work, and it’s far from instant gratification.

But luckily I am close to finishing all that stuff (or at least until I get more paperwork to fill out). I was just talking with one of my friends who went to Oxford last year, so I got some info about Europe. I feel like I’m brand new at all this travel stuff–I’ve never really gone outside of the US, apart from Mexico and Bermuda, but I didn’t even have to plan any of that. This is just slightly overwhelming but also incredibly exciting–the fact that I can plan fun excursions to places I’ve only read about in books or seen pictures of. It makes me think of The Motorcycle Diaries, which is a movie I watched for my Spanish class about two guys (one of them is actually Che Guevara before he becomes famous) who travel all around South America to “see what they’ve only read about in books”. It’s such a simple way of phrasing the excitement of travel.

Laura who went to Oxford was telling me about some great cheap stuff, and I’m just going to write them here mostly for my own record so I don’t forget them when I’m there. Apparently there’s a site called Ryanair where you can get flights all around Europe for literally as low as one pound, plus fees and taxes that add up to only around 11 pounds. That’s less than $20!  So that’s pretty exciting. And also, I had sort of heard of couch surfing, but I hadn’t really talked to anyone who had done it. But Laura highly recommended it. Seriously, can you get a better deal than a free place to stay–who cares if it’s a couch? You’re in Europe!

Also, even if I don’t have time to go everywhere I want to (which I’m sure I won’t…), I definitely need to go to Paris to see the Louvre. But also Laura recommended the Musee d’orsay, which is an impressionist art museum. I love impressionist art, so I will definitely try to check that place out. And apparently Florence is beautiful as well. And in Rome, almost all the famous churches with famous impressionist art are free! Free is a college student’s favorite word! 🙂

One comment

  1. The Musee d’Orsay’s collection of Impressionist art came to the Frist. I got to see Whistler’s Mother…IN PERSON! It was totally worth seeing. Please see it for me. 🙂



Leave a Reply

