h1

La Boquería y El Barrio Gótico

August 30, 2011

It’s late, and I’m tired, so just a quicky for tonight.

Here’s the rundown: Yesterday, I had a completely uneventful day, mostly because I had an awful stomach ache and I didn’t feel like doing anything. I stayed at the CIEE “casa” and talked with some fellow students after class for about 2 hours, and then I went home, ate leftover pizza, and slept. After that, I wrote some blog entries (the preceding ones), spent some time on facebook, and did homework. Then I had dinner, and tried to go to sleep afterwards, but, due to the 1 1/2 hour nap I’d taken, I found it impossible to sleep. So I stayed up until after 2 am, texting with my friends back home and trying to sleep.

So, today, I was pretty tired. But I decided I would NOT take a nap again. And my stomach was much better! So a couple of friends and I went to the Boquería, which is a really fun marketplace in Las Ramblas. I took about a million pictures, which you can see if you are facebook friends with me. Otherwise, you can see the couple I’ve put here, below.

The entrance to "La Boquería"

LOTS of raw fish

And raw meat, of course

Mmmm candy!

So much exotic fruit. I wish I could try it all!

Next, we went back to the CIEE “casa”, because some people in the group had to have their advising sessions for classes. Some of my friends wanted to use the internet there, so they did all their internetty things. After spending all day yesterday on the computer, I didn’t really feel like it, so I got bored, but it was okay. I tried to find info about the new Pedro Almodovar movie which is supposed to come out this friday, but that was a bust. Then I tried to decide which Barça game I want to go to this year, but it was too hard to decide. So then I just waited.

Finally, we left to go get some lunch (at 5 pm! So strange!). We walked to La Residencia (where people live if they don’t want to live in a homestay), passed the Arc de Triomf (pictured below), and ate at a yummy pizzeria on the way.

Arc de Triomf

Arc de Triomf

Then the three of us that don’t live in the residencia went back to our houses, but I was tired of taking public transport and I had over an hour and a half before I had to be back for dinner, so I decided to do some exploring on my own. Destination: Barrio Gotico (The Gothic Neighborhood). I took a ton of pictures of that too, although fewer than the boqueria because I hate looking like a tourist when I’m alone, because I can actually pull off not looking too touristy when I’m not with a group of Americans. Anyway, below are some pictures of that.

La Catedral

A guitar player in "El Barrio Gótico"

🙂 I think the narrow alleyways and the old stone buildings make this my favorite neighborhood of the city.

I got a little lost, but that’s the fun of exploring a big city! And I had a map so it was all good. I ended up arriving home about 5-10 minutes late for dinner, sweaty and tired, but definitely happy. Ah, I love this city.

One comment

  1. […] stop: La Boquería (remember it from this blog post from ages ago?) to buy pumpkin pie spices. Un poquito de gengibre molido y clavo molido, por favor! […]



Leave a Reply

