h1

Un día sin fotos…

August 31, 2011

Yesterday, I took 80 pictures. So, today, I was kind of wary to take any… it seemed a little unnecessary, especially since I went to a lot of the same places that I was yesterday. But I was glad to have had both: yesterday I had some time alone to explore, and today, I stayed with friends most of the day.

It’s crazy to me that I’ve only been here a bit more than a week. I’ve already done so much! Some of the friends I have are close, but we were strangers a week ago. A week ago, the streets I walk every day were so intimidating, and I got lost really easily, and now, I consider them my home. A week ago, it overwhelmed me to hear Spanish all the time, now I find it hard to speak English because my auto-pilot has switched over to Spanish. I just can’t even imagine what it’ll be like after four months.

Today, I wandered around the city with six of my friends… peeking in a couple shops, not buying much, and just enjoying each other’s company. We went to a pizzeria for lunch; I bought salad, but it wasn’t exactly salad in my opinion–no lettuce. It was tomato slices, covered in olive oil, mozzarella cheese, spices, basil, and pesto. It was delcious, just a bit overpriced for what it was. Then we wandered around more, partially in the area around the Arc de Triomf, and partially in the Barrio Gótico.

This picture is from a couple nights ago, but this is also the group I hung out with today.

In one of our ramblings around the city, we ended up in a random dollar store (or I guess it would be a euro store here?), and it was pretty awesome. I bought a biography of Antonio Banderas, for €1! Amazing! 🙂

Um... yes! 🙂

I’m so excited for the new Almodovar movie coming out this Friday (if I can find it somewhere around here)–it has Antonio Banderas, it’s a thriller, and it’s Almodovar: what more could I want? haha.

I mentioned this yesterday, but I will go into more detail now since I have less prisa. (see, I’m telling you, auto-pilot=Spanish) I think it’s really cool that, when I’m alone or with a small group of non-super-American-looking people with good accents, the automatic language that people speak with me is Castellano (Spanish). It bothers me and makes me feel like a stupid American tourist when a shopkeeper or waiter or something automatically speaks to me in English. I want to appear like I belong here, not that I’m another stupid tourist that can be ripped off. But yesterday, I had so many people speak to me in Castellano, and I even had people come up and ask me for directions in Spanish. Unfortunately, I’m not well-versed enough in the streets of the Barrio Gotico to have helped them, but it made me feel good anyway. There’s just something about being mistaken for a Spanish person that makes me SO excited. Perhaps I really could survive here for more than just 4 months. 🙂

One comment

  1. That’s cool that people automatically speak to you in Spanish. Way to be awesome and non-touristy. Oh, and I thought of a legitimate question: what have you found to be the most glaringly different thing(s) about Spanish culture? Like something hard to get used to or completely different from American culture.



Leave a Reply

