h1

I miss blogging!

October 9, 2011

Hello, blogging world. I have not forsaken you. I have just been up to a lot, and had little time with internet access. I don’t really like to sit in my room and use the computer, since the weather is always so nice, and there are cool places to see and interesting people to watch.

But I should blog more because I love it!

It feels like ages ago that I went to the Merced. Two weeks ago. (And so sad because now 6 weeks have passed in Barcelona, and that means I have 6 fewer weeks here!!) Since then, my classes have really started to kick in, and I’ve been doing a lot of reading and research for them, a little bit of homework, and some interacting with classmates. It’s hard to learn new things when the entire lecture is in Spanish–taking notes is so much harder when it’s not in English! But I think I’m getting the gist of what is going on. Or at least I hope so. I don’t think I will take enough tests to know how I am doing in the middle of my classes (only 1-3 tests per class!), so I’ll just have to hope that I do well on the tests, because that’s the only determiner of the grades!

So last weekend I went to Paris! I went with 5 friends, and we were only there 1 1/2 days, which was kind of a bummer, but a good thing for our wallets because I seriously spent SOO much money when I was there! We also went to Tarragona afterwards, which was beautiful and really cool! But we were so tired from walking around all of Paris that we didn’t see much. Luckily, I’m going back there in a couple days so I can see the rest of it.

And then, this past Friday, my parents arrived to visit me! We went to Montserrat together yesterday! They really enjoyed it, but they were VERY tired by the end. Afterwards, my host parents invited my real parents to dinner at their house. It was strange to see how they interacted–the intersection of my two worlds. I feel like I am made up of two different people: the person I am in Spain and the person I am in the US, and since my parents have arrived, I have a weird internal reunion of the two. It’s very strange.

But now my parents are in Paris, the city of love, being romantic and–hopefully–having fun, despite how tired they probably are, since they went right after climbing the mountains of Montserrat (perhaps that was bad planning on my part…). They come back in a couple days, and we’ll have to hit up all the touristy spots of the city. I get to be a pseudo tour guide, which is fun but somewhat humiliating because I realize that I’ve been here 6 weeks but still don’t know much of anything about the city, apart from how to get from one place that I frequently visit to another.

Today was the first Sunday that I didn’t have a big cultural event or a trip planned for the day, so I decided to go to church. It was a small CMA church close to my house, and I enjoyed it a lot. The people were very welcoming and friendly, and after church a bunch of us went to a Brazilian restaurant. It was insane. You paid one price for all-you-can-eat of Brazilian meat. The waiters came around with these giant metal sticks of meat towers that they shaved off onto your plate. It was delicious, but very filling. I was about to burst afterwards, and I was still full when I got to dinner tonight. I enjoyed getting to know some new people, and I hope I can go back a couple more Sundays before I leave Spain.

Well, that’s all I have time for right now. Maybe I will put up some pictures or make a more detailed blog entry, but I say that all the time and it usually doesn’t happen. So we’ll see.

One comment

  1. […] My life abroad « I miss blogging! America in Spain? October 10, […]



Leave a Reply

