h1

My new philosophy

November 7, 2011

It’s pretty easy to please me, but I do have some things that make me extraordinarily happy. Among these are (life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness. Sorry. Couldn’t resist): taking walks, speaking Spanish, singing, parks, and coffee shops. I’ll have you know that on Saturday, I got to enjoy going all of those. And I got some homework done too.

It was during one of my many walks wandering around the city on Saturday that I formulated my new philosophy for life in Barcelona: keep your eyes open and wear comfy walking shoes. Deciding on a new philosophy, however, made me think of a song from “You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown” (which you can watch here). It’s kind of like “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie”: If you give a Kristen some time walking around Barcelona by herself…

  • She’s probably going to start talking to herself. She may actually say some pretty profound things, but eventually, she will say something that reminds her of a song she knows, which means…
  • She will start singing to herself. And since she only knows the lyrics to songs in English (apart from “La Camisa Negra” by Juanes and “Waka Waka” by Shakira), she will start to feel guilty for using English when she’s in Spain to practice her Spanish, after all. (Even though she had been talking to herself in English earlier, but she notices it more when people start staring at her singing an obscure American song out loud while walking) So…
  • She will start talking to herself in Spanish. But seeing as it’s quite difficult to express her deepest thoughts in a foreign language, she will probably subconsciously switch over to English, which brings this scenario full-circle.

Yep. That’s my life here. That cycle actually happens pretty much every time I walk alone. Which happens several times a day.

P.S. I did a wordle of my blog! Not sure how it works exactly, since I just typed in my URL and it popped this out, but that’s faster than my copy-pasting every blog entry, so I took the lazy route. Wordle is pretty fun. 🙂

Wordle: Barcelona

3 comments

  1. Loved this! Keep signing!


  2. *singing 😉


  3. i watched the “my new philosophy” video… and was immediately flooded with slight feelings of annoyance at that play. lol.



Leave a Reply

